Fishing report

Fishing Wales: The only one there!

There are many who works shifts and absolutely hate it and some who treasure it. I certainly love it. It allows me to fish on the better weather unhampered by worries that my cast will hit the beachcomber who was looking for treasure or the little kids who were busy building their sandcastle on the beach. I had such a day on Monday gone.

The trip to my favourite popular mark coincides with the ending of some school holiday, so the drive was peaceful without any serious interuptions( Alhamdulillah). When I arrive on the mark, it was miles upon miles of clean sand and only a few happy holidaymakers around. Parked at my usual spot happy in the thought in big tides i shoukd be getting some extra lug to freeze for winter fishing.

My type of beach….so quiet , Nice!

IMG_4951

The breeze was mild but a northwesterly is a welcome addition to this beach. First on the agenda was bait pumping. There were lots of cast, mostly blow lug so i have to resign to chilling out for next hour waiting for some decent  yellowtails and occasional black lug to cast. Once they started casting, my gym session begins. Got enough for a few session and rested for 15 minutes before I setted up for the evening fishing.

60 lugs for the freezer

IMG_4954

Travel light for low water fishing

IMG_4953

At the turn of the tide, a single flapper 3/0 hook baited with fresh lug casted out into the gully in front of me. After 15 minutes, the thumps on my rod indicated a fish trying to take my rod away. This was swiftly followed by a gentle strike to set the hook and the battle to bring it in ensue. It kites to the left, swan to the right and ran towards me. My already sore arms from pumping felt like a 10 ton weight. Only by the arrival of the silver bar near the lip of the sea lighten the load and a million smiles were shared between me and the thousands of cast on the beach. A good fish fat from a brilliant warm summer feast!

 Chunky Silver bass at 42cm ( please excuse the blood on the fish guys)

IMG_4955By the second hour of the flood the bites have gone and by rig was all twisted and slimy on return. I think the silver eel have taken the bait on several occasion. Despite only a single fish , my bait freezer eventually have something in them for the winter. A good days fishing with target species achieved. Alhamdulillah.

Tightlines

Mo

Standard

Leave a comment